Growing Philanthropy

Hartsook Institutes is founded on the principle of increasing philanthropy by elevating the fundraising field. We know we can’t do it alone. There are those in the nonprofit sector who are already doing an exemplary job embodying the spirit of philanthropy, persevering against all odds, and linking the quality, knowledgeable fundraiser to the philanthropist.

In this spirit, Hartsook Institutes recognizes a distinguished group of individuals and organizations whose efforts increase philanthropy through research, innovation and challenging the status quo.

elevating the fundraising field

Past Award Recipients 

Presented at the National WWI Museum and Memorial's special event in Kansas City, Night at the Tower

Growing Philanthropy Award for Transformational Capital Philanthropy
Honoree: Kent Sunderland, President and Trustee, The Sunderland Foundation

Presented at the 2017 Inspired Fundraising Summit in Kansas City

Growing Philanthropy Award for Disruptive Fundraising Thought
Honoree: Roger Craver, Author/Editor, The Agitator

Presented at the 2017 Science of Philanthropy Initiative Conference in Chicago

Growing Philanthropy Award for Applied Fundraising Research
Honoree: John List, PhD, University of Chicago, Kenneth C. Griffin Distinguished Service Professor of Economics; and Lilly Family Foundation School of Philanthropy, Robert F. Visiting Chair in Fundraising

Presented at the 2016 Inspired Fundraising Summit in Kansas City

Growing Philanthropy Award for Philanthropic Journalism
Honoree: Paul Clolerly, Vice President and Editorial Director, NPT Publishing Group

Presented at 2015 National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) State Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C.

Growing Philanthropy Award for Community Engagement
Honoree: Steve Newberry, President and CEO, Commonwealth Broadcasting Corporation

Nominated by: NAB President and CEO, Former Senator Gordon Smith


Presented at The Heritage Foundation's Annual Leadership Conference in Naples, Florida.

Growing Philanthropy Award for Salesmanship
Honoree: Brian Tracy, Chairman and CEO, Brian Tracy

Nominated by: The Heritage Foundation CEO Jim DeMint 

Presented at Avila University, 2014 Inspired Fundraising Summit in Kansas City.

Growing Philanthropy Award for Exemplary Civic Leadership
Honoree: Bill Dunn, Chair Emeritus, Dunn Construction

Growing Philanthropy Award for Exemplary Civic Leadership
Honoree: Henry W. Bloch, Chair Emeritus, H&R Block

Growing Philanthropy Award for Targeted Support
Honoree: Jeanne Olofson, President/Founder, Tom W and Jeanne H Olofson Foundation


Presented at the Boy Scouts of America Top Hands Conference in Phoenix.

2012 Growing Philanthropy Award for Transformative Fundraising Leadership
Honoree: Bob Mazzuca, Chief Scout Executive, Boy Scouts of America

Nominated by Jason Barlow, Chair, Legacy Campaign


Presented at the Growing Philanthropy Breakfast and recognized at the American Fundraising Professionals Greater Wichita Chapter National Philanthropy Day.

2011 Growing Philanthropy Award for Nonprofit Model CFO
Honoree: Mr. Roger D. Lowe, Senior Vice President, Wichita State University

Nominated by Dr. Don Beggs, President, Wichita State University
Presented at the first annual national Growing Philanthropy Summit sponsored by Blackbaud, Hartsook Institutes, the Robert F. Hartsook Chair in Fundraising at Indiana University Adrian Sargeant, and Hartsook Companies, Inc. at The Hay-Adams in Washington, D.C.
2011 Growing Philanthropy Award - Founder of the Growing Philanthropy Movement
Honoree: Dr. Eugene R. "Gene" Tempel, President, Indiana University Foundation

Nominated by Andrew Watt, President and Chief Executive Officer, Association of Fundraising Professionals

Show More

The 2019 special GPA was given to Robert F Hartsook, with Greg Conway, Tulsa Boys Home as the nominator. Award given in Wilmington, NC.

Hartsook Institutes for Fundraising and Hartsook Companies, Inc. sponsored the first Growing Philanthropy Awards as part of the National Growing Philanthropy Conference in 2010. Distinguished individuals and institutions were acknowledged for their part in growing philanthropy through their work in the nonprofit sector.

Presented at the 92nd National Exchange Club National Conference in Palm Springs, Calif.:

Growing Philanthropy Award for Tenacity and Persistence
Honoree: Mr. Gerald Franklin
National Exchange Club Foundation, Toledo
Nominated by Rick Gordon, Mike Jernigan, and Ken Warner, National Exchange Club Foundation Steering Committee

Presented at the National Growing Philanthropy Conference in Kansas City:

Growing Philanthropy Award for Recurring Fundraising
Honorees: Mr. Carsten Walter, Director
and Ms. Christie Fogarty, Manager
The Heritage Foundation, Washington, DC
Nominated by John Von Kannon, The Heritage Foundation

Growing Philanthropy Award for Innovative Fundraising
Honoree: Harvesters, Kansas City
Ms. Karen Haren, Executive Director
Nominated by: Mary McClure, Incoming Board Chair, Harvesters

Growing Philanthropy Award for High Level Giving
Honoree: Mr. Murray Blackwelder
President, UMKC Foundation – Kansas City
Nominated by: Leo E. Morton, Chancellor, University of Missouri-Kansas City

Growing Philanthropy Award for Research in Fundraising
Honoree: Adrian Sargeant, PhD
Professor, SPEA & Philanthropic Studies and Robert F. Hartsook Chair in Fundraising, Indiana University
Nominated by: Robert F. Hartsook, CEO, Hartsook Companies, Inc.
and President, Hartsook Institutes for Fundraising

Growing Philanthropy Award for Institutional Giving
Honoree: The Kresge Foundation
Nominated by: Dr. Clayton Tatro, President, Fort Scott Community College
Accepting on behalf of The Kresge Foundation:
Laura McKnight, Greater Kansas City Community Foundation


Thank you!

Your message has been sent. We'll contact you shortly

Contact Us

Join The Newsletter